Hands Free Cell Phone Dichotomy


Fines for violating the new hands free cell phone law in California are $20 for the first offense and $50 for any second and subsequent offenses. California Vehicle Code section 23123.

The fine schedule for violating the California high occupancy vehicle (carpool) lane is derived primarily from California Vehicle Code section 42001.11 (set forth in full below). A rather arcane application of that section and several other code sections results in a minimum fine of $271.

Continue reading