Free Legal Advice Isn’t Worth What You Pay For It


 

I have not been posting to this blog, in part because many readers apparently missed the sardonic intent of its title … a problem which I compounded on several occasions by actually trying to provide the typically worthless commodity I was intending to mock.

Strangely enough, although I haven’t posted anything new for more than four years, a few lost souls wander in every day and read the old posts.  So, I’ve decided to begin posting again, but with this caveat:  I am going to write about legal subjects which interest me, but am not going to answer individual or specific legal questions from readers.

I’ll be happy to engage in dialogue about the legal issues regarding which I post, but if you have a specific question about a legal issue you are facing, I suggest, for simple, informational inquries, that you visit the site “JustAnswer”.   This is a question and answer site on which legal experts are available to provide, for a rather modest fee, information (though not legal advice) about virtually any legal issue.  You ask the question, an expert answers and, if you give the expert a satisfactory rating for his answer, you pay the agreed upon fee.  You can access “JustAnswer” by clicking on the link “Ask Lawyers Now” under the heading “Just Answer” to the right below the BlogRoll.

To be clear, free legal advice isn’t worth what you pay for it … so if you really need legal advice, you should consult with an attorney and pay him or her for his time.  In the long run, if you are dealing with a serious legal issue, obtaining good advice will be worth whatever it costs.  If you happen to need assistance with a criminal matter anywhere in Northern California, you can contact the law firm for which I work by clicking on the “Summit Defense” link to the right below the BlogRoll.

And, to repeat the legal fine print from my original post here:

Any and all comments here are offered solely for the purpose of providing general information about legal issues and should not be considered specific legal advice intended to be relied upon by any reader (doesn’t that sound just like a lawyer?).  If you have a legal problem and need specific legal advice about that problem, you should consult with (and pay) a lawyer for that specific legal advice.  Even if my comments here address your legal problem, before acting on anything I say, you should still consult with (and pay) a lawyer for specific legal advice about your problem.

By the way, I reserve the right to pick and choose the subjects about which I will comment and the questions which I will answer, to control the content of this blog by refusing any comment which I find objectionable or inappropriate for any reason and to edit, modify and/or delete anything I post at any time for any reason.

On the other hand, I will often speak plainly at the risk of offending you or someone else and if I do, will likely not apologize.  Which is another way of saying, if you’re not going to like the answer, don’t ask the question.

Leave a Reply

