… so if you need legal advice, hire a good lawyer. For Northern California's #1 Criminal Defense Lawyers, click on the SUMMIT DEFENSE link below. For legal commentary sprinkled with grumbles, gripes, quibbles and squawks, keep reading here.
Fines for violating the new hands free cell phone law in California are $20 for the first offense and $50 for any second and subsequent offenses. California Vehicle Code section 23123.
The fine schedule for violating the California high occupancy vehicle (carpool) lane is derived primarily from California Vehicle Code section 42001.11 (set forth in full below). A rather arcane application of that section and several other code sections results in a minimum fine of $271.
My recent posts here regarding Randy DeSoto’s The Conservative Voice columns were an outgrowth of an ongoing conversation among a group of West Point graduates regarding 2008 presidential election issues. John Sloan, Class of 1955, a frequent contributor to this discussion, provided a lengthy and thoughtful comment on my post on the role of religion in government, to which I will respond here.
As mentioned in my previous post on the new California hands free cell phone law, there has been a raging debate over the use of cell phones while driving. I recently participated in a conversation on the subject on the website “Newsvine”, which conversation begins at: